New in

Summer 2021 issue

The most beautiful hotels, the best beaches, island hopping in Greece and city popping in Europe's most exciting cities - Falstaff TRAVEL magazine presents the best tips for the long-awaited travel comeback in 2021!

GettyImages-1285709047
© GettyImages
DestinationsSkiTips

Endless skiing fun in Canada: Whistler

Barely two hours by car from Vancouver lies the largest ski area in Canada. Thanks to generous mountain scenery, the best snow conditions and urban amusements, an unforgettable skiing experience is guaranteed in Whistler-Blackcomb.

2 December 2021


Early visitors called the area 115 kilometres northeast of Vancouver "London Mountain", but it came to be called Whistler after the whistle of the groundhog. After trappers were attracted by the natural beauty of the Canadian mountain landscape, the first lodge was built in 1914, others followed - but until the 1960s almost no infrastructure was in place. It wasn't until the first ski lifts went into operation (which resulted in a bid for the 1968 Winter Olympics) that more and more winter sports enthusiasts were attracted. Today Whistler-Blackcomb, named after the two elevations Whistler Mountain (2181 meters) and Blackcomb Peak (2436 meters), which are connected by the highest gondola in the world - 436 meters above the valley -, the largest ski resort in Canada, known for its snow reliability (on average 10.8 meters of snow fall here per year), varied terrain and a wide range of recreational activities. It finally succeeded in hosting the Winter Olympics in 2010 after a failed bid in 1968. One of the remnants of this time is the bobsled track at the Whistler Sliding Center, which can also be ridden by non-professionals. No previous experience is required - after an introduction, you'll be guided down ten curves by a trained pilot. This is not for the faint-hearted: speeds of up to 125 kilometres per hour can be reached here. Speaking of adrenaline rush: Passionate off-piste riders love the Coast Mountains, as the Canadian mountain range is called. The Symphony Express, a high-speed lift with four-seater chairs, provides access to four square kilometres of back bowls on Whistler Mountain. Here you'll find deep powder and forest runs for expert skiers. Another highlight: Heliskiing has been offered in Whistler for over 40 years, the terrain includes 173 glaciers and 475 runs.

Stunts through hoops of fire

What also makes the small town of Whistler with its almost 12,000 inhabitants exciting: It is a place that is characterized by appealing Canadian architecture as well as international flair. The latter is also reflected in the diverse restaurants and bars; from bistro to star cuisine, everything is possible here. Every Sunday evening there is a spectacular event at the "Skiers Plaza" in the city centre: "Fire and Ice" is the name of the show in which professionals on skis and snowboards jump through burning rings of fire.

Best of Whistler: Hotel Tips

Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Where elegance and cosiness find each other excellently

Majestically this house with its 519 rooms lies in the middle of a dreamlike landscape with forests and mountains. Modern elegance and decadence meet typical Canadian cosiness and plenty of space. Over 500 rooms await guests who, after a long day on the slopes, want to enjoy the culinary offerings in the restaurant "The Wildflower" or in the "Portobello" before relaxing in front of the fireplace and gazing out over the snow-covered valley. The house offers a spacious spa area and is also a popular address for weddings and other family celebrations. Double room from € 260,-.

Fairmont Chateau Whistler, fairmont.com.
4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, V8E 0Z5 British Columbia, Canada
T: +1 604 938 8000

©VRX Studio, Scott Brammer

The Westin Resort & Spa

Hideaway with "Sleep Well" service

Nestled in the Coast Mountains, right in the heart of the village, is this recently renovated hotel. All suites are equipped with a kitchen, a fireplace and a large bathtub - the ideal accommodation for winter holidays with the whole family. Relaxation is also catered for, with guests pampered from head to toe in the spa before heading off to dreamland - the Westin is famous for its sleep well service, which ranges from custom-made beds to sleep-inducing superfoods. Double room from € 152,-.

The Westin Resort & Spa, marriott.com.
4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, V83 1J3 British Columbia, Canada
T: +1 604 905 5000

©Gillian Jackson

Four Seasons Resort Whistler

Luxurious retreat with charm

Undoubtedly the most luxurious hotel in town: excellent service, top culinary services and absolute comfort are guaranteed here. Away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, the Four Seasons Resort is the perfect getaway for those seeking peace and relaxation in nature. In typical Whistler fashion, the design features stone, wood and neutral colours. Each room has a balcony, a fireplace and a large walk-in closet with enough space for excess luggage. Double rooms from € 1300.

Four Seasons Resort, fourseasons.com
4591 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, V8E 0Y4 British Columbia, Canada
T: +1 604 935 3400

©Four Seasons Resort Whistler

Spa

Scandinave Spa Whistler

Would you like a Swedish relaxation massage in the middle of the Canadian mountains? At the Scandinave Spa Whistler, you can. This spa is located north of Whistler Village in a spruce and cedar forest. In addition to unique facial and body treatments, it also offers a breathtaking panorama. scandinave.com

Relax in a winter wonderland In the "Scandinave Spa Whistler" you can relax like in the European north - in steam baths and saunas ©Scandinave Spa Whistler

Restaurants

Bearfoot Bistro

A visit to Bearfoot Bistro is more than just a meal. Chef Melissa Craig's creations are exceptional and arguably the result of her quest for perfection. British Columbia seafood and game are particularly recommended, complemented with the best from around the world. bearfootbistro.com

©Mauritius Images

Christine's On Blackcomb

This restaurant is located at lofty heights in the "Rendezvous Lodge" at the top station of the Solar Coaster Express on Blackcomb Mountain. The view is incredible, and so is the food. Served at the exclusive mountain restaurant are scallops, barbecue duck, and crab risotto, among other dishes. Reservations are recommended! whistlerblackcomb.com

©Mauritius Images

Shopping

Whistler Hat Gallery

Whether elegant, traditional or fancy: In the Whistler Hat Gallery there is a huge selection of hats of different styles. whistlerhatgallery.com

©IStock

Good to Know

Perfect for ...

Adventurers (heliskiing and snowmobile tours are a tradition in Whistler), cosmopolitans (who sometimes fly overseas for a ski weekend) and experienced freeriders. A popular deep snow area is the "Secret Bowl".

Route network and lifts

The Whistler-Blackcomb ski area is the largest in Canada with around 200 kilometres of pistes (of which around 140 kilometres are red pistes) and 23 lifts. The Peak-to-Peak gondola, which connects the two highest elevations, hovers at a maximum height of 436 meters, making it the highest in the world.

Duration of the ski season

With over ten meters of snowfall per year, the Canadian ski resort is considered extremely snow-sure - and if there should be any bottlenecks, state-of-the-art snow-making systems guarantee a smooth ski season from November to May. On the glacier, the lifts run until August.

Scroll to Top

Jetzt Neu

Ausgabe Sommer 2021

Die schönsten Hotels, die besten Beaches, Island Hopping auf Griechenland und City Popping in Europas spannendsten Städten – das Falstaff TRAVEL Magazin präsentiert die besten Tipps für das langersehnte Reise-Comeback in 2021!

GettyImages-1285709047
© GettyImages
DestinationsSkiTipps

Endloses Skivergnügen in Kanada: Whistler

Knapp zwei Autostunden von Vancouver entfernt liegt das größte Skigebiet Kanadas. Dank großzügiger Bergwelt, bester Schneebedingungen und urbaner Vergnügungen ist ein unvergessliches Skierlebnis in Whistler-Blackcomb garantiert.

2. Dezember 2021


Frühe Besucher nannten das Gebiet 115 Kilometer nordöstlich von Vancouver „London Mountain“, doch setzte sich die Benennung Whistler nach dem Pfeifen (englisch: whistle) des Murmeltiers durch. Nachdem Fallensteller von der natürlichen Schönheit der kanadischen Gebirgslandschaft angezogen worden waren, entstand 1914 die erste Lodge, weitere folgten – doch bis in die 1960er-Jahre fehlte fast jede Infrastruktur. Erst mit der Inbetriebnahme der ersten Skilifte (was in der Bewerbung für die Olympischen Winterspiele 1968 mündete) zog man mehr und mehr Wintersportler an. Heute ist Whistler-Blackcomb, benannt nach den beiden Erhebungen Whistler Mountain (2181 Meter) und Blackcomb Peak (2436 Meter), die durch die höchste Gondel der Welt miteinander verbunden sind – 436 Meter über dem Tal! –, das größte Skigebiet in Kanada, bekannt für seine Schneesicherheit (durchschnittlich fallen hier 10,8 Meter Schnee pro Jahr), das abwechslungsreiche Terrain und ein großes Freizeitangebot. Mit der Ausrichtung der Olympischen Winterspiele hat es nach der gescheiterten Bewerbung 1968 dann 2010 schließlich auch geklappt. Eines der Überbleibsel aus dieser Zeit ist die Bobbahn im Whistler Sliding Center, die auch von Nichtprofis befahren werden kann. Vorkenntnisse sind keine erforderlich – nach einer Einführung geht es, gesteuert von einem ausgebildeten Piloten, in zehn Kurven rasant nach unten. Für schwache Nerven ist das nichts: Hier werden Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 125 Stundenkilometern erreicht. Apropos Adrenalinkick: Passionierte Off-Piste-Fahrer lieben die Coast Mountains, wie der kanadische Gebirgszug heißt. Der Symphony Express, ein Hochgeschwindigkeitslift mit Vierersesseln, ermöglicht den Zugang zu vier Quadratkilometern an Back Bowls auf dem Whistler Mountain. Hier gibt’s Tiefschnee- und Waldabfahrten für Könner. Ein weiteres Highlight: Seit über 40 Jahren wird in Whistler Heliskiing angeboten, das Terrain umfasst 173 Gletscher und 475 Abfahrten.

Stunts durch Feuerreifen

Was die Kleinstadt Whistler mit ihren knapp 12.000 Einwohnern ebenfalls spannend macht: Es ist ein Ort, der von ansprechender kanadischer Architektur ebenso geprägt ist wie von internationalem Flair. Letzteres spiegelt sich auch in den vielfältigen Restaurants und Bars wider; vom Bistro bis zur Sterneküche ist hier alles möglich. Jeden Sonntagabend gibt’s am „Skiers Plaza“ in der Innenstadt zudem eine spektakuläre Veranstaltung: „Fire and Ice“ heißt die Show, in der Profis auf Skiern und Snowboards durch brennende Feuerringe springen.

Best of Whistler: Hotel-Tipps

Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Wo Eleganz und Gemütlichkeit vortrefflich zueinanderfinden

Majestätisch liegt dieses Haus mit seinen 519 Zimmern inmitten einer traumhaften Landschaft mit Wäldern und Bergen. Moderne Eleganz und Dekadenz treffen hier auf typisch kanadische Gemütlichkeit und viel Freiraum. Über 500 Zimmer warten auf Gäste, die nach einem langen Tag auf der Piste das kulinarische Angebot im Restaurant „The Wildflower“ oder im „Portobello“ genießen wollen, bevor sie vor dem Kamin entspannen und auf das verschneite Tal blicken. Das Haus bietet einen großzügigen Spa-Bereich und ist zudem eine beliebte Adresse für Hochzeiten und andere Familienfeiern. DZ ab € 260,–.

Fairmont Chateau Whistler, fairmont.com
Chateau Boulevard 4599, Whistler, V8E 0Z5 British Columbia, Kanada
T: +1 604 938 8000

©VRX Studio, Scott Brammer

The Westin Resort & Spa

Hideaway mit „Sleep Well“-Service

Eingebettet in die Coast Mountains, direkt im Herzen des Dorfes, befindet sich dieses kürzlich renovierte Hotel. Alle Suiten sind mit einer Küche, einem Kamin und einer großen Badewanne ausgestattet – die ideale Unterkunft für Winterurlaub mit der ganzen Familie. Für Entspannung ist ebenfalls gesorgt: Im Spa werden Gäste von Kopf bis Fuß verwöhnt, bevor es ins Traumland geht – das „Westin“ ist berühmt für seinen „Sleep well“-Service, der von eigens angefertigten Betten bis hin zu schlaffördernden Superfoods reicht. DZ ab € 152,–.

The Westin Resort & Spa, marriott.com
Whistler Way 4090, Whistler, V83 1J3 British Columbia, Kanada
T: +1 604 905 5000

©Gillian Jackson

Four Seasons Resort Whistler

Luxuriöser Zufluchtsort mit Charme

Zweifelsohne das luxuriöseste Hotel in der Stadt: Hier sind exzellenter Service, kulinarische Top-Leistungen und absoluter Komfort garantiert. Abseits des Trubels der Ortsmitte ist das „Four Seasons Resort“ der perfekte Zufluchtsort für alle, die Ruhe und Entspannung in der Natur suchen. In typischer Whistler-Manier ist das Design von Stein, Holz und neutralen Farben geprägt. Jedes Zimmer verfügt über einen Balkon, einen Kamin und einen großen begehbaren Schrank, der für Übergepäck genügend Platz bietet. DZ ab € 1300,–.

Four Seasons Resort, fourseasons.com
Blackcomb Way 4591, Whistler, V8E 0Y4 British Columbia, Kanada
T: +1 604 935 3400

©Four Seasons Resort Whistler

Spa

Scandinave Spa Whistler

Eine schwedische Entspannungsmassage inmitten der kanadischen Bergwelt gefällig? Im „Scandinave Spa Whistler“ ist das möglich. Dieses Spa liegt nördlich von Whistler Village in einem Fichten- und Zedernwald. Geboten wird neben einmaligen Gesichts- und Körperbehandlungen also auch ein atemberaubendes Panorama. scandinave.com

Abschalten im Winterwunderland Im „Scandinave Spa Whistler“ kann man sich entspannen wie im europäischen Norden – in Dampfbädern und Saunen ©Scandinave Spa Whistler

Restaurants

Bearfoot Bistro

Ein Besuch im „Bearfoot Bistro“ bedeutet mehr, als nur eine Mahlzeit einzunehmen. Die Kreationen von Chefköchin Melissa Craig sind außergewöhnlich und wohl das gelungene Resultat ihres Strebens nach Perfektion. Besonders zu empfehlen sind Meeresfrüchte und Wild aus British Columbia, das mit dem Besten aus der ganzen Welt ergänzt wird. bearfootbistro.com

©Mauritius Images

Christine’s On Blackcomb

Dieses Restaurant liegt in luftiger Höhe in der „Rendezvous-Lodge“ an der Bergstation des Solar Coaster Express am Blackcomb Mountain. Die Aussicht ist unglaublich, das Essen ebenfalls. Serviert werden im exklusiven Bergrestaurant unter anderem Jakobsmuscheln, Grillente und Krabbenrisotto. Eine Reservierung wird empfohlen! whistlerblackcomb.com

©Mauritius Images

Shopping

Whistler Hat Gallery

Ob elegant, traditionell oder ausgefallen: In der Whistler Hat Gallery gibt es eine riesige Auswahl an Hüten unterschiedlicher Stilrichtungen. whistlerhatgallery.com

©IStock

Good to Know

Perfekt für …

Abenteurer (Heliskiing und Snowmobiltouren haben in Whistler Tradition), Kosmopoliten (die für ein Skiwochenende auch mal nach Übersee fliegen) und geübte Freerider. Ein beliebtes Tiefschneerevier ist das „Secret Bowl“.

Streckennetz und Liftanlagen

Das Skigebiet Whistler-Blackcomb istmit rund 200 Pistenkilometern (davon sind rund 140 Kilometer rote Pisten) und 23 Liften das größte in Kanada. Die Peak-to-Peak-Gondel, welche die beiden höchsten Erhebungen verbindet, schwebt auf einer maximalen Höhe von 436 Metern und ist damit die höchste der Welt.

Dauer der Skisaison

Bei über zehn Metern Schneefall im Jahr gilt das kanadische Skigebiet als extrem schneesicher – und falls es doch mal Engpässe geben sollte, garantieren modernste Beschneiungsanlagen eine reibungslose Skisaison von November bis Mai. Auf dem Gletscher laufen die Lifte bis in den August hinein.

Lesenswert

Best of Tulum: Die Hotspots der Traumdestination

Best of Tulum: Die Hotspots der Traumdestination

Karibischer Lifestyle, Sonne, Strand und kristallklares Wasser: Tulum ist die Beach-Destination schlechthin. Doch auch kulturell und in Sachen Kulinarik punktet der Ort an der Riviera Maya. Die besten Tipps für Tulum.

Hochgenuss!

Hochgenuss!

Die Zeiten, als der Einkehrschwung für Gourmets noch eine eher unbefriedigende Angelegenheit war, sind glücklicherweise längst vorbei. Einige Skihütten sind mittlerweile Fine-Dining-Destinationen par excellence und laden zu kulinarischen Gipfelstürmen auf höchstem Niveau ein.

Best of Outdoor Natural Hot Springs

Best of Outdoor Natural Hot Springs

Wenige Naturphänomene sind so entspannend und beeindruckend zugleich: Werden heiße Quellen nicht ihrer Ursprünglichkeit beraubt, darf man darin auf besondere Erlebnisse hoffen – positive Aspekte für die Gesundheit inklusive.

Meist gelesen

One&Only Desaru Coast/Malaysien – Hotel Review

One&Only Desaru Coast/Malaysien – Hotel Review

Der einzige Weg zu vollkommener Entspannung führt über One&Only. Der Hotelkette ist mit dem Resort an der Desaru Coast Außergewöhnliches gelungen.

10 Fragen an den Reisedoc

10 Fragen an den Reisedoc

Was tun, wenn man in einem fremden Land krank wird? Mit dem Reisedoc der Europäischen Reiseversicherung fährt der Arzt via App mit auf die Reise und steht bei Problemen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite!

Best of Winter Hideaways

Best of Winter Hideaways

Die besten Adressen für Genussmenschen, Spa-Fans, Familien und Designliebhaber in der Alpenregion – inklusive der schönsten Hideaways abseits der Pisten.

Nach oben blättern