New in

Summer 2021 issue

The most beautiful hotels, the best beaches, island hopping in Greece and city popping in Europe's most exciting cities - Falstaff TRAVEL magazine presents the best tips for the long-awaited travel comeback in 2021!

Baros Aerial Sunset
© Baros Maldives
BeachDestinationsLuxuryTips

Best Of Maldives

Almost 1200 islands, one more beautiful than the other. No other place comes as close to the ultimate vacation as the island nation of the Maldives, located southwest of India in the Indian Ocean. However, visitors have a luxury problem: the agony of choice.

30 December 2021


White beaches, turquoise blue lagoons, slender palm trees and wooden bungalows seemingly floating above the sea - an almost perfect holiday destination, exotic, tropical, postcard-perfect. It's a wonder the 19 atolls remained undiscovered for so long. As recently as the 1970s, the island nation was an almost untouched archipelago. The locals lived from fishing, boat building and agriculture, there were hardly any flight connections and virtually no tourist infrastructure. It is said that the Italian Giorgio Corbin was the first tour operator to discover the islands in 1971. He was looking for untouched nature and beautiful diving areas and came to Malé, the capital of the Maldives, rather by chance via Sri Lanka. He liked what he saw and already one year later he brought the first visitors to the islands. They stayed in simple huts, sunbathed on secluded beaches, snorkeled in the sea and photographed the fascinating underwater world. Their reports on the newly discovered paradise did not go unnoticed: more and more people wanted to see it.

Palm frond covered huts without doors

In 1972, the first "resort" in the Maldives was built on the previously uninhabited island of Vihamanaafushi - a few palm-frond-roofed cottages without doors, fans or fresh water. The accommodation was simple and affordable with prices under $20 per day. Gradually, other small hotels opened, attracting mainly divers, because the Maldives, with its spectacular coral gardens, magnificent reefs, diveable shipwrecks and almost everyday encounters with whale sharks, sea turtles and manta rays, had quickly become the longing destination of underwater fans.

Island Life De Luxe

And today? In the past five years alone, around 50 hotels have opened, each on its own island or on a mini-archipelago, most in the luxury category. Large jets from all over the world land at the expanded airport; they bring tourists and everything they need on vacation: French champagne, Wagyu beef from Japan, swimwear from Italy - in the kitchens, bars and boutiques of the resorts, one can find anything the pampered heart desires. But what's most impressive is the always beautiful weather, the stylish accommodations, the very fine cuisine, the friendly service and the casual barefoot feeling. Once you've lived in your own detached cottage, you wouldn't want to go back to a hotel box. The romance of a guest villa with beds made of woven bamboo cane, open-air shower and a magnificent view of the sea is unbeatable. At night, all you can hear is the gentle surf; during the day, birdsong and the voice of the butler bringing fresh flowers or breakfast. On request, he would also set a white table in the sand and serve grilled lobster and iced Chardonnay at sunset - the principle of "anything anytime" is everyday life in many resorts.

Regulars and newcomers

Still many divers are among the visitors, but now they have to dig a little deeper into their pockets to finance their holiday. But they find perfect conditions: first-class equipped PADI dive centers, liveaboard ships, accompanied wreck diving, moonlight dives and much more. In addition to the divers, the honeymooners and the tranquility-seeking luxury travellers, families with children, young couples and city dwellers who don't mind a little entertainment and like-minded company now also come. It is for them that the brand new Fari Islands project was invented, a pioneering joint concept of three five-star hotels - "Ritz-Carlton", "Patina" and "Capella" - which share three neighbouring islands in the North Malé Atoll and jointly operate a marina with beach club, restaurants and boutiques. Guests are offered the opportunity to use the facilities of the neighbouring hotels as well, multiplying the choice of possible activities. However, those responsible in the Maldives have understood that their destination must not only grow in the luxury sector. Therefore, not far from the capital Malé, the island group "Crossroads" was inaugurated, which sees itself as a lifestyle hub with "Hard Rock Hotel", various shops and restaurants. The project is intended to strengthen "normal" tourism: not so expensive and for a young audience that wants to have fun.

Nature conservation as a top priority

But beware: the booming tourism also harbours risks. Where there was once a pristine reef, there are now overwater bungalows, underwater restaurants and diving stations. Fortunately, hotel operators are aware that holidaymakers primarily want to experience the natural beauty of the Maldives. Therefore, they are working hard to preserve the ecosystem: Sometimes a conservation program for endangered sea turtles is launched, sometimes a waste recycling program is launched or a hotel's own sustainability manager is hired. After all, the tropical paradise that the first visitors fell in love with 50 years ago is to be preserved as well as possible under all circumstances.

©InterContinental Maldives, Sebastian-Pena-Lambarri

Waldorf Astoria

An icon reinvents itself

Those who know Waldorf Astoria from New York, Rome or Berlin know that the group stands for lavish luxury. The resort on the Maldives, which opened in 2020, is no exception: on the mini-archipelago, they have opted for villas in modern tropical chic - 119 of them are spread over three contiguous islands, including a private island for guests who want absolute privacy with their own staff. Each of the beach, reef and overwater villas stands on white sand or adjoins a sundeck; each has its own pool, ocean views and a hammock for lounging. Prices per night for two people from €2220.

  • Ideal for gourmets and people who want a Robinson Crusoe island de luxe.
  • Highlight: Eleven different restaurants, including The Ledge, created by Singaporean Michelin-star chef and barbecue specialist Dave Pynt, and Glow, featuring fresh farm-to-table cuisine.
  • Insider tip: The resort includes two villas, accessible only by boat, with floor-to-ceiling windows and unobstructed views of the night sky.

Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi, waldorfastoria3.hilton.com.
Ithaafushi Island, South Malé Atoll, Malé, Maldives
T: +960 4000 300

©Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi

Le Méridien

Young design and jungle flair

The 144-villa resort, which only opened in September 2021, is one of the more zeitgeist-oriented destinations that appeal to a young audience and score points with a fresh, playful, modern look. Unexpected shapes - much of the design is round and organic - are surprising, as are the vertical gardens, bamboo structures and cheerfully striped cushions on the beach-wood loungers. Double room from € 425,-.

  • Ideal for families who want to teach their children about the environment through play. There are nature trails, mini-sea conservation and sustainable art lessons.
  • Highlight: The private island Bodu Finolhu belonging to the resort with untouched tropical forests and deserted beaches.
  • Insider tip: The sunset is best enjoyed with a cocktail at the "Riviera" pool bar.

Le Méridien Maldives Resort & Spa, marriott.com.
Thilamaafushi Island, Lhaviyani Atoll, Maldives
T: +960 4008 888

©Le Meridien Maldives Resort & Spa

Siyam World

Fabulous all-inclusive resort

Since the end of October 2021, "Siyam World" has been boasting numerous superlatives: epicureans can look forward to no less than 14 bars and restaurants and embark on a culinary journey around the world - naturally included in the all-inclusive package. A highlight is the palace of the Beach House Collection. Villa from € 520,-.

  • Ideal for families and wellness enthusiasts who love all-round service and are looking for that little bit extra.
  • Highlight: The "Siyam Water World", the largest floating water park in the Maldives with water slides, trampolines, courses and numerous activities for young and old.
  • Insider tip: The "Barrique" restaurant offers fine dining in the resort's wine cellar - with the finest drops from around the world.

Siyam World*****, sunsiyam.com
Noonu Atoll, Maldives
T: +960 332 5977

©Siyam World Maldives

Patina

Splendid isolation with urban social life

Most Maldives holidaymakers want peace and privacy in an exotic setting - but there are also people who need a lot of life around them. The Fari Islands project fulfils this wish: "Patina" guests live in one of the 90 villas of different sizes, which are located on the beach or on stilts above the lagoon. From there, they can walk to the center of the atoll. In the marina with its marina, beach club, restaurants and boutiques, you can stroll a bit, shop a bit, people watch a bit and then retreat to your private realm and enjoy its nature-loving as well as design-oriented style. Double room per night from € 2153.

  • Ideal for the enterprising and zeitgeist traveler.
  • Highlight: The Wellbeing concept, which focuses on balance, nutrition, sleep and optimal training programs.
  • Insider tip: Design fans can look forward to furniture by Vitra and Gervasoni, art lovers to a pavilion by James Turrell, music fans to a music studio.

Patina Maldives, patinahotels.com/maldives
North Malé Atoll, Maldives, T: +960 400 0555

©Georg Roske

The Ritz-Carlton Maldives

Design icon in an island paradise

Since summer 2021, "The Ritz-Carlton Maldives, Fari Islands" has expanded the portfolio of the luxury hotel group. It is idyllically located in the North Malé Atoll and counts 100 luxury villas, which impress with minimalist design and a butler service that leaves no wish of the guests unfulfilled. The seven restaurants and bars cover a wide range of excellent cuisine and drinks. Fresh Italian espresso in the morning is on the menu here, as is fine rosé and Lebanese street food. The spa stands out with its ring-shaped facility in the heart of the Water Villas and with excellent treatments. Villas from approx. € 1870,- per night.

  • Ideal for design lovers and families. In the "Ritz Kids" the little ones romp around and playfully learn about the culture and environment of the Maldives.
  • Highlight: The Spa, inspired by the power of the earth and following the energies of Yin and Yang.
  • Insider tip: The Japanese restaurant "Iwau", where fresh sushi and sashimi are served at the Chef's Table; accompanied by sake, whisky and tea.

The Ritz-Carlton Maldives, Fari Islands*****, ritzcarlton.com
Fari Islands, North Malé Atoll, Maldives
T: +960 400 0999

©Christopher Cypert

Velaa Private Island 

An almost private holiday paradise

It's no coincidence that this particularly exclusive island resort is owned by an entrepreneur: Jiri Smejc has been to the Maldives a few dozen times with his wife Radka, seen everything and combined the best of the best in his own holiday paradise. "Velaa", opened in 2014, offers guests what is important to the hosts: unrestricted privacy, 47 villas beautifully blended into nature, hand-picked service staff who lovingly take care of you and excellent cuisine. On Velaa there is a golf course, a wine tower with 6000 bottles, a spa with individualized treatments and a private boat fleet including a luxury yacht. Double room per night around € 7000,-.

  • Ideal for celebrities, politicians, business leaders and all others who would like to spend their holidays undetected and undisturbed.
  • Highlight: The spectacular restaurant "Aragu", which floats on stilts and offers a 360-degree view of the Indian Ocean, and its chef Gaushan De Silva, who cooks purist, product-oriented and absolutely delicious.
  • Insider tip: Velaa is home to the island republic's first Snow Room - treading snow barefoot is ideal for boosting your immune system.

Velaa Private Island, velaaprivateisland.com
Noonu Atoll, Maldives, T: +960 6565 000

©No Limit

Coco Bodu Hithi

Maldivian charm with the highest level of comfort

It is the unobtrusive luxury and the Maldivian charm that make the "Coco Bodu Hithi" so special. The villas score points with private pools, fantastic views and outdoor showers. Five restaurants and two bars provide culinary delights - the cuisine ranges from local to Mediterranean. Epicureans will enjoy the selection of fine international wines in the "Wine Loft", which they can enjoy not only at the weekly tasting. The island's award-winning spa is no less impressive, with eight treatment rooms, a varied spa menu and sunrise and sunset yoga. Villa from around €570 per night.

  • Ideal for couples and pleasure seekers who appreciate relaxed luxury.
  • Highlight: In the house reef, marine biologists replant broken corals with the help of guests, helping to preserve the reefs and wildlife.
  • Insider tip: Not only the house reef of the island is worth a dive. The diving school goes to surrounding reefs, where you can observe manta rays, among other things.

Coco Bodu Hithi*****, cococollection.com
North Malé Atoll, Maldives, T: +960 664 1122

©Coco Collection 

The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Elegant work of art in the middle of a green oasis

The "St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort" already impresses with its extraordinary design upon arrival. The architecture of the resort is inspired by the local culture and nature - the "Whale Bar", for example, is reminiscent of a whale shark. Yoga and meditation help guests find their inner center, while Ayurveda and acupuncture provide holistic relaxation. The "Decanter" offers not only selected wines and champagne, but also a five-course tasting menu. More casual dining is available at Crust & Craft, where you can create your own pizza and choose from a variety of sandwiches and snacks. Villa from around €1600 per night.

  • Ideal for design lovers and discerning travellers.
  • Highlight: The "John Jacob Astor Estate Villa" with three bedrooms, large infinity pool and sun terrace, show kitchen, panoramic ocean views and the legendary "St. Regis" butler service.
  • Insider tip: Guests can charter the island's own "Norma Luxury Yacht," cruise nearby reefs and stay in one of three opulent cabins.

The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort*****, marriott.com
Vommuli Island, Dhaalu Atoll, Maldives, T: +960 676 6333

©Marriott International

Baros Maldives

What lasts long becomes really good

The "Baros" was one of the first resorts to welcome guests (mainly divers at the time) to the Maldives in 1973. The resort is known for its particularly beautiful house reef, which nestles almost in a ring around the island and can be reached from many suites with a few swims - encounters with reef sharks, turtles and other sea creatures are not to be ruled out. On land, 75 overwater and beach villas lure guests, their architecture blending perfectly with the tropical vegetation of the small island. Three restaurants and two bars fulfil almost every culinary wish, a spa and an overwater yoga deck are also available. Double room from € 864,-.

  • Ideal for divers. The PADI Five Star Gold Palm Dive Center offers exceptional diving experiences.
  • Highlight: The sponsorship initiative to protect and preserve the house reef. Guests can sponsor a piece of coral and regularly receive pictures of "their" coral.
  • Insider tip: You can get married - or renew your vows - on the Piano Deck (which is shaped like a piano).

Baros Maldives, baros.com
PO Box 2015, Maldives, T: +960 6642 672

©Baros Maldives

Soneva Fushi

Incomparable luxury paired with boundless nonchalance

Soneva Fushi brought barefoot luxury to the Maldives more than 25 years ago: a strong environmental awareness and the realization that what is expensive does not have to be formal and stiff. It was the first resort to succeed in combining casual with luxury - today, its "no news, no shoes" principle is considered the epitome of Maldivian style. The resort offers lavish space, an unpretentious design, various dining locations, a diving centre and an open-air cinema. Last year, the "Fushi" opened its first villas on stilts - the eight new "Water Retreats" are among the largest overwater villas in the world. Double room per night from € 1314.

  • Ideal for people who like to wear shorts and T-shirts around the clock without having to sacrifice excellent service and luxury.
  • Insider tip: The blue water slides, which lead from the upper floor of the villas directly into the waves, offer a special pleasure.
  • Highlight: International experts, some of them prominent (such as ex-tennis pro Jonas Björkman), are regularly invited to pass on their knowledge and skills to the guests.

Soneva Fushi, soneva.com
Kunfunadhoo Island, Baa Atoll, Maldives, T: +960 656 6666

©Soneva

Text: Marlies Daum

This article appeared in the Falstaff TRAVEL issue Winter 2021/22.

Scroll to Top

Baros Aerial Sunset
© Baros Maldives
BeachDestinationsLuxusTipps

Best Of Malediven

Knapp 1200 Inseln, eine schöner als die andere: Kein anderer Ort kommt dem ultimativen Urlaubstraum so nahe wie der Inselstaat der Malediven, der südwestlich von Indien im Indischen Ozean liegt. Besucher haben allerdings ein Luxusproblem: die Qual der Wahl.

30. Dezember 2021


Puderzuckerstrand, türkisblaue Lagunen, schlanke Palmen und scheinbar über dem Meer schwebende Holzbungalows – ein nahezu perfekter Urlaubsort, exotisch, tropisch, postkartenschön. Ein Wunder, dass die 19 Atolle so lange unentdeckt blieben: Noch in den 70er-Jahren war der Inselstaat ein fast unberührter Archipel. Die Einheimischen lebten vom Fischfang, Bootsbau und der Landwirtschaft, es gab kaum Flugverbindungen und so gut wie keine touristische Infrastruktur. Es heißt, der Italiener Giorgio Corbin sei 1971 als erster Reiseveranstalter auf die Inseln aufmerksam geworden. Er suchte unberührte Natur und schöne Tauchgebiete und kam eher zufällig über Sri Lanka nach Malé, in die Hauptstadt der Malediven. Was er sah, gefiel ihm, und schon ein Jahr später brachte er erste Besucher auf die Inseln. Sie logierten in einfachen Hütten, sonnten sich an einsamen Stränden, schnorchelten im Meerwasser und fotografierten die faszinierende Unterwasserwelt. Ihre Berichte über das neu entdeckte Paradies blieben nicht folgenlos: Immer mehr Menschen wollten es sehen.

Palmwedelgedeckte Hütten ohne Türen

1972 entstand auf der bis dahin unbewohnten Insel Vihamanaafushi das erste „Resort“ der Malediven – ein paar mit Palmwedeln gedeckte Häuschen ohne Türen, Ventilatoren und Frischwasser. Die Unterkunft war einfach und mit Preisen unter 20 Dollar pro Tag bezahlbar. Nach und nach eröffneten weitere kleine Hotels, die vor allem Taucher anlockten, denn die Malediven mit ihren spektakulären Korallengärten, den großartigen Riffs, den betauchbaren Schiffswracks und den beinahe alltäglichen Begegnungen mit Walhaien, Meeresschildkröten und Mantarochen waren schnell zum Sehnsuchtsziel der Unterwasserfans geworden.

Inselleben De Luxe

Und heute? Allein in den vergangenen fünf Jahren wurden rund 50 Hotels eröffnet, jedes auf einer eigenen Insel oder auf einem Miniarchipel, die meisten in der Luxuskategorie. Am ausgebauten Flughafen landen große Jets aus aller Welt; sie bringen Touristen und alles, was diese im Urlaub so brauchen: französischen Champagner, Wagyu-Beef aus Japan, Bademode aus Italien – in den Küchen, Bars und Boutiquen der Resorts gibt es alles, was das verwöhnte Herz begehrt. Doch vor allem zählen das immer schöne Wetter, die stilvollen Unterkünfte, die sehr feine Küche, der freundliche Service und das lässige Barfußfeeling. Wer einmal in einem eigenen frei stehenden Häuschen gewohnt hat, möchte nicht in einen Hotelkasten zurück. Die Romantik einer Gästevilla mit Betten aus gewobenem Bambusrohr, Freiluftdusche und einem grandiosen Blick aufs Meer ist unschlagbar. Nachts ist nur die sanfte Brandung zu hören, tagsüber Vogelgezwitscher und die Stimme des Butlers, der frische Blumen oder das Frühstück bringt. Auf Wunsch würde er auch einen weiß gedeckten Tisch in den Sand stellen und zum Sonnenuntergang gegrillten Hummer und eisgekühlten Chardonnay servieren – das Prinzip „Anything anytime“ ist in vielen Resorts gelebter Alltag.

Stammgäste und Newcomer

Noch immer zählen viele Taucher zu den Besuchern, allerdings müssen sie jetzt etwas tiefer in die Tasche greifen, um ihren Urlaub zu finanzieren. Dafür finden sie perfekte Bedingungen vor: erstklassig ausgestattete PADI-Tauchbasen, Tauchsafari-Schiffe, begleitetes Wracktauchen, Mondscheintauchgänge und vieles mehr. Neben den Tauchern, den Honeymoonern und den ruhesuchenden Luxusreisenden kommen inzwischen aber auch Familien mit Kindern, junge Paare und Großstädter, die nichts gegen ein wenig Entertainment und gleichgesinnte Gesellschaft haben. Für sie wurde das brandneue Fari-Islands-Projekt erfunden, ein zukunftsweisendes Gemeinschaftskonzept von drei Fünf-Sterne-Hotels – „Ritz-Carlton“, „Patina“ und „Capella“ –, die sich drei Nachbarinseln im Nord-Malé-Atoll teilen und gemeinsam eine Marina mit Beachclub, Restaurants und Boutiquen betreiben. Den Gästen bietet sich die Möglichkeit, auch die Einrichtungen der Nachbarhotels zu nutzen und somit die Auswahl an möglichen Aktivitäten zu vervielfachen. Die Verantwortlichen auf den Malediven haben allerdings verstanden, dass ihre Destination nicht nur im Luxusbereich wachsen darf. Deshalb wurde unweit der Hauptstadt Malé die Inselgruppe „Crossroads“ eingeweiht, die sich mit „Hard Rock Hotel“, diversen Läden und Restaurants als Lifestyle-Hub versteht. Das Projekt soll den „normalen“ Tourismus stärken: nicht so teuer und für ein junges Publikum, das sich amüsieren will.

Naturschutz als oberstes Gut

Doch Vorsicht: Der boomende Tourismus birgt auch Risiken. Wo einst ein unberührtes Riff war, stehen jetzt Überwasserbungalows, Unterwasserrestaurants und Tauchstationen. Glücklicherweise ist den Hotelbetreibern bewusst, dass Urlauber in erster Linie die natürliche Schönheit der Malediven erleben möchten. Deshalb arbeiten sie hart daran, das Ökosystem zu erhalten: Mal wird ein Schutzprogramm für gefährdete Meeresschildkröten ins Leben gerufen, mal ein Programm zur Wiederverwertung von Abfällen lanciert oder ein hoteleigener Nachhaltigkeitsmanager engagiert. Denn schließlich soll das tropische Paradies, in das sich vor 50 Jahren die ersten Besucher verliebt hatten, unter allen Umständen so gut wie möglich erhalten bleiben.

©InterContinental Maldives, Sebastian-Pena-Lambarri

Waldorf Astoria

Eine Ikone erfindet sich neu

Wer Waldorf Astoria aus New York, Rom oder Berlin kennt, weiß: Die Gruppe steht für großzügigen Luxus. Das 2020 eröffnete Resort auf den Malediven ist keine Ausnahme: Auf dem Miniarchipel hat man sich für Villen in modernem Tropen-Chic entschieden – 119 Stück davon sind auf drei zusammenhängende Inseln verteilt, inklusive einer Privatinsel für Gäste, die sich absolute Privacy mit eigenem Personal wünschen. Jede der Strand-, Riff- und Überwasservillen steht im weißen Sand oder grenzt an ein Sonnendeck; jede hat einen eigenen Pool, Meerblick und eine Hängematte zum Faulenzen. Preise pro Nacht für zwei Personen ab € 2220,–.

  • Ideal für Gourmets und Menschen, die sich eine Robinson-Crusoe-Insel de luxe wünschen.
  • Highlight Elf unterschiedliche Restaurants, darunter das vom Singapurer Sternekoch und Grillspezialisten Dave Pynt kreierte „The Ledge“ und das „Glow“ mit frischer Farm-to-Table-Küche.
  • Insidertipp Zum Resort gehören zwei nur per Boot erreichbare Villen mit bodentiefen Fensterfronten und freier Aussicht in den Nachthimmel.

Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi, waldorfastoria3.hilton.com
Ithaafushi Island, Süd-Malé-Atoll, Malé, Malediven
T: +960 4000 300

©Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi

Le Méridien

Junges Design und Dschungelflair

Das erst im September 2021 eröffnete 144-Villen-Resort zählt zu den zeitgeistorientierten Destinationen, die ein junges Publikum ansprechen und durch einen frischen, verspielten, modernen Look punkten. Unerwartete Formen – vieles ist rund und organisch gestaltet – überraschen ebenso wie die vertikalen Gärten, die Bambusstrukturen und die fröhlich gestreiften Kissen auf den Strandholzliegen. DZ ab € 425,–.

  • Ideal für Familien, die ihrem Nachwuchs spielerisch die Umwelt näherbringen möchten: Es gibt Naturlehrpfade, Mini-Meeresschutz und nachhaltigen Kunstunterricht.
  • Highlight Die zum Resort gehörende Privatinsel Bodu Finolhu mit unberührten Tropenwäldern und menschenleeren Stränden.
  • Insidertipp Der Sonnenuntergang lässt sich am besten mit einem Cocktail an der „Riviera“- Poolbar genießen.

Le Méridien Maldives Resort & Spa, marriott.com
Thilamaafushi Island, Lhaviyani-Atoll, Malediven
T: +960 4008 888

©Le Meridien Maldives Resort & Spa

Siyam World

Fulminantes All-Inclusive-Resort

Seit Ende Oktober 2021 trumpft das „Siyam World“ mit zahlreichen Superlativen auf: So dürfen sich Genussmenschen auf sage und schreibe 14 Bars und Restaurants freuen und eine kulinarische Weltreise antreten – natürlich im All-inclusive-Paket mit inbegriffen. Ein Highlight ist der Palast der Beach House Collection. Villa ab € 520,–.

  • Ideal für Familien und Wellnessbegeisterte, die Rundumservice lieben und das gewisse Extra suchen.
  • Highlight Die „Siyam Water World“, der größte Floating-Water-Park auf den Malediven mit Wasserrutschen, Trampolinen, Parcours und zahlreichen Aktivitäten für Groß und Klein.
  • Insidertipp Im Restaurant „Barrique“ gibt es Fine Dining im Weinkeller des Resorts – mit den feinsten Tropfen aus der ganzen Welt.

Siyam World*****, sunsiyam.com
Noonu-Atoll, Malediven
T: +960 332 5977

©Siyam World Maldives

Patina

Splendid Isolation mit urbanem Gesellschaftsleben

Die meisten Malediven-Urlauber wünschen sich Ruhe und Privatsphäre in einer exotischen Umgebung – es gibt aber auch Menschen, die viel Leben um sich brauchen. Das Fari-Islands-Projekt erfüllt diesen Wunsch: „Patina“-Gäste bewohnen eine der 90 unterschiedlich großen Villen, die am Strand oder auf Stelzen über der Lagune stehen. Von dort können sie zu Fuß zum Zentrum des Atolls gehen. In der Marina mit Yachthafen, Beachclub, Restaurants und Boutiquen kann man ein bisschen bummeln, ein bisschen shoppen, ein bisschen Leute schauen und sich dann in sein privates Reich zurückziehen und dessen naturverbundenen wie designorientierten Stil genießen. DZ pro Nacht ab € 2153,–.

  • Ideal für Unternehmungslustige und zeitgeistorientierte Reisende.
  • Highlight Das Wellbeing-Konzept, bei dem Gleichgewicht, Ernährung, Schlaf und optimale Trainingsprogramme im Vordergrund stehen.
  • Insidertipp Designfans dürfen sich auf Mobiliar von Vitra und Gervasoni freuen, Kunstfreunde auf einen Pavillon von James Turrell, Musikfans über ein Musikstudio.

Patina Maldives, patinahotels.com/maldives
Nord-Malé-Atoll, Malediven, T: +960 400 0555

©Georg Roske

The Ritz-Carlton Maldives

Designikone im Inselparadies

Seit Sommer 2021 erweitert das „The Ritz-Carlton Maldives, Fari Islands“ das Portfolio der Luxushotelgruppe. Es liegt idyllisch im Nord-Malé-Atoll und zählt 100 Luxusvillen, die durch minimalistisches Design und einen Butlerservice, der keinen Wunsch der Gäste unerfüllt lässt, bestechen. Die sieben Restaurants und Bars decken eine breite Palette an ausgezeichneter Cuisine und Drinks ab. Frischer italienischer Espresso am Morgen steht hier ebenso am Menü wie edler Rosé und libanesisches Streetfood. Das Spa sticht durch seine ringförmige Anlage im Herzen der Water-Villen und mit exzellenten Treatments hervor. Villen ab ca. € 1870,– pro Nacht.

  • Ideal für Designliebhaber und Familien. Im „Ritz Kids“ toben sich die Kleinen aus und lernen spielerisch Kultur und Umwelt der Malediven kennen.
  • Highlight Das Spa, inspiriert von der Kraft der Erde und den Energien des Yin und Yang folgend.
  • Insidertipp Das japanische Restaurant „Iwau“, in dem am Chef’s Table frisches Sushi und Sashimi serviert werden; dazu gibt es Sake, Whisky und Tee.

The Ritz-Carlton Maldives, Fari Islands*****, ritzcarlton.com
Fari Islands, Nord-Malé-Atoll, Malediven
T: +960 400 0999

©Christopher Cypert

Velaa Private Island 

Ein fast privates Urlaubsparadies

Es ist kein Zufall, dass dieses besonders exklusive Inselresort einem Unternehmer gehört: Jiri Smejc war ein paar Dutzend Mal mit seiner Frau Radka auf den Malediven, besah sich alles und vereinte das Beste vom Besten in seinem eigenen Urlaubsparadies. „Velaa“, 2014 eröffnet, bietet den Gästen, was den Gastgebern wichtig ist: uneingeschränkte Privatsphäre, 47 wunderschön in die Natur eingefügte Villen, handverlesenes, sich liebevoll kümmerndes Servicepersonal und hervorragende Küche. Auf Velaa gibt es einen Golfplatz, einen Weinturm mit 6000 Flaschen, ein Spa mit individualisierten Behandlungen und eine private Bootsflotte inklusive Luxusyacht. DZ pro Nacht um € 7000,–.

  • Ideal für Celebritys, Politiker, Wirtschaftsgrößen und alle anderen, die gerne unerkannt und ungestört Urlaub machen möchten.
  • Highlight Das spektakuläre Restaurant „Aragu“, das auf Stelzen schwebt und einen 360-Grad-Ausblick auf den Indischen Ozean bietet, sowie dessen Küchenchef Gaushan De Silva, der puristisch, produktorientiert und absolut köstlich kocht.
  • Insidertipp Auf Velaa steht der erste Snow Room der Inselrepublik – barfüßiges Schneetreten ist ideal, um das Immunsystem anzuregen.

Velaa Private Island, velaaprivateisland.com
Noonu-Atoll, Malediven, T: +960 6565 000

©No Limit

Coco Bodu Hithi

Maledivischer Charme mit höchstem Komfort

Es sind der unaufdringliche Luxus und der maledivische Charme, die das „Coco Bodu Hithi“ so besonders machen. Die Villen punkten mit privatem Pool, traumhaften Ausblicken und Outdoorduschen. Fünf Restaurants und zwei Bars sorgen für kulinarische Genüsse – die Cuisine rangiert von lokal bis mediterran. Genussmenschen erfreuen sich an der Auswahl der edlen internationalen Weine im „Wine Loft“, die sie nicht nur bei der wöchentlichen Verkostung genießen können. Nicht minder punktet das preisgekrönte Spa der Insel, das mit acht Behandlungsräumen, einem vielfältigen Spa-Menü sowie Sunrise- und Sunset-Yoga lockt. Villa ab ca. € 570,– pro Nacht.

  • Ideal für Paare und Genussmenschen, die entspannten Luxus schätzen.
  • Highlight Im Hausriff pflanzen Meeresbiologen mithilfe der Gäste gebrochene Korallen wieder ein und tragen damit zur Erhaltung der Riffe und Tierwelt bei.
  • Insidertipp Nicht nur das Hausriff der Insel ist einen Tauchgang wert: Die Tauchschule steuert umliegende Riffe an, an denen man unter anderem Mantarochen beobachten kann.

Coco Bodu Hithi*****, cococollection.com
Nord-Malé-Atoll, Malediven, T: +960 664 1122

©Coco Collection 

The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Elegantes Kunstwerk inmitten einer grünen Oase

Schon bei der Anreise besticht das „St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort“ mit seinem außergewöhnlichen Design. Die Architektur des Resorts ist inspiriert von der lokalen Kultur und Natur – so erinnert die „Whale Bar“ etwa an einen Walhai. Yoga und Meditation lassen Gäste ihre innere Mitte finden, Ayurveda und Akupunktur sorgen für ganzheitliche Entspannung. Im „Decanter“ warten nicht nur ausgewählte Weine und Champagner, hier wird auch ein Fünf-Gänge-Degustationsmenü kredenzt. Legerer speist man im „Crust & Craft“, in dem man seine eigene Pizza kreieren darf und aus einer Vielzahl an Sandwiches und Snacks wählen kann. Villa ab ca. € 1600,– pro Nacht.

  • Ideal für Designliebhaber und anspruchsvolle Reisende.
  • Highlight Die „John Jacob Astor Estate Villa“ mit drei Schlafzimmern, großem Infinitypool und Sonnenterrasse, Showküche, Panoramablick auf das Meer und dem legendären „St. Regis“-Butlerservice.
  • Insidertipp Gäste können die inseleigene „Norma Luxury Yacht“ chartern, nahe gelegene Riffe ansteuern und in einer von drei opulenten Kabinen übernachten.

The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort*****, marriott.de
Vommuli Island, Dhaalu-Atoll, Malediven, T: +960 676 6333

©Marriott International

Baros Maldives

Was lange währt, wird richtig gut

Das „Baros“ war 1973 eines der ersten Resorts, die Gäste (damals hauptsächlich Taucher) auf den Malediven willkommen hießen. Das Resort ist für sein besonders schönes Hausriff bekannt, das sich fast ringförmig um die Insel schmiegt und von vielen Suiten mit ein paar Schwimmzügen zu erreichen ist – Treffen mit Riffhaien, Wasserschildkröten und anderen Meeresbewohnern sind dabei nicht auszuschließen. An Land locken 75 Overwater- und Strandvillen, deren Architektur sich perfekt in die tropische Vegetation der kleinen Insel einfügt. Drei Restaurants und zwei Bars erfüllen nahezu jeden kulinarischen Wunsch, ein Spa und ein Überwasser-Yogadeck gibt es auch. DZ ab € 864,–.

  • Ideal für Taucher. Die PADI-Fünf-Sterne- Goldpalmen-Tauchbasis bietet außergewöhnliche Taucherlebnisse.
  • Highlight Die Sponsoringinitiative zum Schutz und Erhalt des Hausriffs. Gäste können die Patenschaft für ein Korallenstück übernehmen und erhalten regelmäßig Bilder von „ihrer“ Koralle.
  • Insidertipp Auf dem Piano Deck (hat die Form eines Klaviers) kann man sich trauen lassen – oder sein Ehegelübde erneuern.

Baros Maldives, baros.com
PO Box 2015, Malediven, T: +960 6642 672

©Baros Maldives

Soneva Fushi

Unvergleichlicher Luxus, gepaart mit grenzenloser Lässigkeit

Das „Soneva Fushi“ hat den Malediven vor mittlerweile über 25 Jahren den Barfuß-Luxus beschert: ein ausgeprägtes Umweltbewusstsein und die Erkenntnis, dass das, was teuer ist, nicht förmlich und steif sein muss. Es war das erste Resort, dem es gelang, Lässigkeit mit Luxus zu verbinden – heute gilt sein „No news, no shoes“-Prinzip als Inbegriff des Malediven-Stils. Geboten werden verschwenderische Platzverhältnisse, ein unprätentiöses Design, diverse Dining Locations, eine Tauchbasis, ein Open-Air-Kino. Im Vorjahr hat das „Fushi“ seine ersten Villen auf Stelzen eröffnet – die acht neuen „Water Retreats“ zählen zu den größten Überwasservillen der Welt. DZ pro Nacht ab € 1314,–.

  • Ideal für Menschen, die gerne rund um die Uhr kurze Hosen und T-Shirts tragen, ohne deshalb auf exzellenten Service und Luxus verzichten zu müssen.
  • Insidertipp Ein besonderes Vergnügen bieten die blauen Wasserrutschen, die vom oberen Stockwerk der Villen direkt in die Wellen führen.
  • Highlight Es werden regelmäßig internationale, teils prominente Experten (wie der Ex-Tennisprofi Jonas Björkman) eingeladen, die ihr Wissen und Können an die Gäste weitergeben.

Soneva Fushi, soneva.com
Kunfunadhoo Island, Baa-Atoll, Malediven, T: +960 656 6666

©Soneva

Text: Marlies Daum

Dieser Artikel erschien in der Falstaff TRAVEL Ausgabe Winter 2021/22.

Lesenswert

Warum das Napa Valley eine Reise wert ist

Warum das Napa Valley eine Reise wert ist

Die kalifornische Weinregion lockt mit sagenhaftem Wein, zahlreichen Hotspots für Genießer und romantischen Hotels.

Das sind die Hotels der nächsten Generation

Das sind die Hotels der nächsten Generation

Die immersiven Boutiquehotels von Life House spinnen mit ihren detaillierten Designs ein spannendes Narrativ für Reisende, die mehr von einer Destination erwarten, und treffen damit genau den Puls der Zeit.

Best of Chalet: 5 Adressen für den ganz privaten Luxus

Best of Chalet: 5 Adressen für den ganz privaten Luxus

Diese fünf herausragenden Chalets verknüpfen den Luxus eines Sternehotels mit privatem Komfort – und ganz viel Sinn für Stil.

Meist gelesen

Vom Amazonas bis in die Arktis: Auf Abenteuerfahrt mit der neuen Seabourn Venture

Vom Amazonas bis in die Arktis: Auf Abenteuerfahrt mit der neuen Seabourn Venture

Ob durch arktische Meere oder wilde Urwaldflüsse: Das neue Expeditionsschiff Seabourn Venture trägt Reisende auf luxuriöse Art mitten ins Abenteuer.

Asien öffnet seine Häfen und Silversea sticht in See

Asien öffnet seine Häfen und Silversea sticht in See

Nachdem sich Asien endlich wieder für internationale Reisende und Kreuzfahrtschiffe geöffnet hat, bringt Silversea ihren Passagieren die authentische Schönheit des faszinierendsten Kontinents der Welt endlich wieder näher. Denn wie könnte man die Wunder Asiens besser erleben, als auf einem Kreuzfahrtschiff von Silversea?

Sind das die drei besten Destinationen für Gourmets?

Sind das die drei besten Destinationen für Gourmets?

Vom mediterranen Piemont übers saftig grüne Südafrika bis ins Napa Valley im sonnigen Kalifornien – das sind unsere besten Reisetipps für Gourmets.

Nach oben blättern