New in

Summer 2021 issue

The most beautiful hotels, the best beaches, island hopping in Greece and city popping in Europe's most exciting cities - Falstaff TRAVEL magazine presents the best tips for the long-awaited travel comeback in 2021!

Unbenannt-1
© Nick115 | Pixabay
ActiveCityDestinationsExperiencesHotelInsiderTips

The most charming small towns in Europe

It doesn't always have to be a metropolis: These paradisiacal small towns guarantee wonderful holiday memories.

30 November 2021


Major metropolises tend to be overcrowded and packed with attractions. If you want to take it down a notch and explore something new, put one of the following small European towns on your bucket list.

Visby, Sweden

On the west coast of Gotland lies Visby, probably the best preserved Hanseatic city. With its fifty watchtowers, gates, drawbridges and ramparts, the medieval city gives the impression that it still has to protect its wealth from looters. Within the walls, a labyrinth of alleys and staircases stretches between half-timbered houses, monasteries, churches and merchants' villas. Once a year the inhabitants adapt to their scenery. Then, during the Middle Ages Week, the town fills with monks, craftsmen, knights and merchants. The ideal walking tour connects the worth seeing ruins of twelve Gothic churches, among them the vaulted ribs of Saint Katarina, in whose nave the annual chamber music festival takes place. Accommodation at all price points and a free ferry to the island make Visby an affordable destination.

 
 
 
 
 
Check out this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by 🇸🇪💙Sweden_Photolovers💛🇸🇪 (@sweden_photolovers)

Since 2008, NOVI Resort Visby has been located directly north of the city on the coast and is therefore the ideal starting point for all holidaymakers who want to combine exploring the small town with a dose of luxury.

NOVI Resort Visby
NOVI Resort Visby
S:t Göransgatan 31
621 55 Visby
Tel: +46 (0) 498 - 21 91 00

 
 
 
 
 
Check out this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by NOVI Resort Visby (@noviresortvisby)

Vernazza, Italy

Vernazza, on the Ligurian coast in the Cinque Terre, is home to less than 1,000 inhabitants. The old fishing village huddles on a rocky outcrop that lies just above sea level and thus forms a scenic exception to the otherwise steep, rugged coastline. Like a lighthouse, the Belforte, the prominent watchtower of Fort Doria, towers at the top of the promontory. It is open to visitors, who can enjoy a wonderful view of the coast from here. Vernazza itself has two beaches: one facing the sea, the other on the inner harbour lagoon. Various footpaths lead directly along the coast. We recommend the route between Vernazza and Monterosso, where the coastal forest often clears to reveal breathtaking views.

The best option is to stay outside the small town, so that you have the possibility of a little road trip along the coast to Vernazza. The Belmond Splendido Mare Hotel, about 80 kilometres away, offers the ambience of the former retreat for sailors and still lends the guesthouse its nautical charm.

Belmond Splendido Mare
Luxury Hotel in Portofino | Accommodation on the Italian Riviera (belmond.com)
Via Roma 2
16034 Portofino, Genoa, Italy
Tel: +39 0185 2678 02

On a rocky outcrop, Vernazza juts out between the cliffs. © Kirsten Velghe | Unsplash

Colmar, France

In the Alsatian town of Colmar, you know what idyllic looks like: colourful half-timbered houses line the flower-decked canals, and one quarter is even called "Little Venice". A long walk is worthwhile here, which should lead culture lovers to the Unterlinden Museum in the old convent. The huge collection ranges from medieval to contemporary art. The city also has a great cultural heritage: the sculptor Bartholdi, who created the Statue of Liberty in New York, was born here. A twelve-metre high statue can be seen in Colmar. Furthermore, the town lies on the Alsace Wine Route and likes to adorn itself as the wine capital of the region.

The James Boutique Hôtel Colmar centre offers accommodation in the centre of Colmar and is located on the Alsace Wine Route. This boutique hotel offers a contemporary and modern decor style.

 James Boutique Hôtel Colmar centre
https://www.jameshotel-colmar.com/
15 rue Saint-Eloi
68000 Colmar, France
Tel: +33 3 89 21 93 70

A feast for the eyes by day and by night: Colmar. © Vered Caspi | Unsplash, Evgeni Tcherkasski | Unsplash

Hallstatt, Austria

If you want to explore small towns, you don't have to travel far! Because in the middle of Upper Austria on the western shore of Lake Hallstatt is the charming little town of Hallstatt. It is at its most beautiful in winter, when the snow-covered roofs of the historic buildings are reflected in Lake Hallstatt. Then the numerous winter sports in the region, such as ski hiking and sled dog rides, also attract visitors. If you don't just want to relax in front of a mountain panorama and open fire, you can get active all year round, from diving in the lake to extensive biking and hiking tours through the surrounding countryside to paragliding. Even cultural holidays are possible: the Salzkammergut Hallstatt and Dachstein is a World Heritage Site and can be explored on your own or on guided tours.

 
 
 
 
 
Check out this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Christian Freiwald (@landscapes_nd_more)

The adults-only Hallstatt Hideaway awaits guests with panoramic views of Lake Hallstatt and the surrounding mountains. Holidaymakers stay in the centre of the market town of Hallstatt, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Only a few steps separate the hotel from the lake shore.

Hallstatt Hideaway - Adults only
Home - Hallstatt HideawayHallstatt Hideaway | Private Suites (hallstatt-hideaway.com)
Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg-24
4830 Hallstatt
Tel: +43 699 10483024

 
 
 
 
 
Check out this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Hallstatt Austria (@hallstatthideaway)

Scroll to Top

Unbenannt-1
© Nick115 | Pixabay
AktivCityDestinationsExperiencesHotelInsiderTipps

Die charmantesten Kleinstädte in Europa

Es muss nicht immer eine Metropole sein: Diese paradiesischen Kleinstädte garantieren wunderschöne Urlaubserinnerungen.

30. November 2021


Große Metropolen sind gerne überlaufen und voll mit Attraktionen. Wer einen Gang herunterschalten möchte und Neues erkunden will, der sollte sich eine der folgenden europäischen Kleinstädte auf die Bucket-List setzen.

Visby, Schweden

An der Westküste Gotlands liegt die wohl am besten erhaltene Hansestadt: Visby. Mit ihren fünfzig Wachtürmen, Toren, Zugbrücken und Wällen gibt sich die mittelalterliche Stadt so, als müsse sie ihren Reichtum noch vor Plünderern schützen. Innerhalb der Mauern erstreckt sich zwischen Fachwerk, Klöstern, Kirchen und Kaufmannsvillen ein Labyrinth aus Gassen und Treppenstiegen. Einmal im Jahr passen sich die Einwohner ihrer Kulisse an. Dann füllt sich in der Mittelalterwoche die Stadt mit Mönchen, Handwerkern, Rittern und Kaufleuten. Der ideale Streifzug verbindet die sehenswerten Ruinen von zwölf gotischen Kirchen, darunter die Gewölberippen von Sankt Katarina, in deren Kirchenschiff das jährliche Kammermusik-Festival stattfindet. Unterkünfte in allen Preislagen sowie eine Gratis-Fähre zur Insel machen Visby zu einem erschwinglichen Reiseziel.

 
 
 
 
 
Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von 🇸🇪💙Sweden_Photolovers💛🇸🇪 (@sweden_photolovers)

Seit 2008 geht ist das NOVI Resort Visby direkt im Norden der Stadt an der Küste anzutreffen und ist somit der ideale Ausgangpunkt für alle Urlauber, die die Erkundungstour des kleinen Städtchens mit einer Portion Luxus verbinden möchten.

NOVI Resort Visby
NOVI Resort Visby
S:t Göransgatan 31
621 55 Visby
Tel: +46 (0) 498 - 21 91 00

 
 
 
 
 
Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von NOVI Resort Visby (@noviresortvisby)

Vernazza, Italien

Nicht einmal 1000 Einwohner beherbergt Vernazza an der ligurischen Küste in der Cinque Terre. Das alte Fischerdörfchen kauert auf einem Felsvorsprung, der knapp über dem Meeresspiegel liegt und so eine landschaftliche Ausnahme der sonst steilen, schroffen Küste bildet. Wie ein Leuchtturm wirkt da der Belforte, der markante Wachturm des Kastells Doria, das an der Spitze des Vorsprungs aufragt. Die Anlage ist für Besucher geöffnet, die von hier einen traumhaften Blick über die Küste haben. Vernazza selbst hat zwei Strände: einen zum Meer gelegen, den anderen an der inneren Hafenlagune. Verschiedene Wanderwege führen direkt an der Küste entlang. Empfehlenswert ist die Route zwischen Vernazza und Monterosso, auf der sich der Küstenwald häufig lichtet und atemraubende Aussichten freigibt.

Optimal ist die Nächtigung außerhalb des kleinen Städtchens, sodass man die Möglichkeit auf einen kleinen Roadtrip entlang der Küste nach Vernazza hat. Das circa 80 Kilometer entfernte Belmond Splendido Mare Hotel bietet das Ambiente des einstigen Rückzugsortes für Seefahrer und verleiht dem Gästehaus auch heute noch seinen nautischen Charme.

Belmond Splendido Mare
Luxushotel in Portofino | Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten an der italienischen Riviera (belmond.com)
Via Roma 2
16034 Portofino, Genoa, Italy
Tel: +39 0185 2678 02

Auf einem Felsvorsprung ragt Vernazza zwischen den Klippen hervor. © Kirsten Velghe | Unsplash

Colmar, Frankreich

Im elsässischen Städtchen Colmar weiß man, wie Idylle geht: Bunte Fachwerkhäuser reihen sich entlang der blumenschmückten Kanäle­, ein Viertel trägt gar den Namen „Klein-Venedig". Hier lohnt sich ein ausgedehnter Spaziergang, der Kulturliebhaber ins Museum Unterlinden im alten Frauenkloster führen sollte. Die riesige Sammlung erstreckt sich von mittelalterlicher bis zu zeitgenössischer Kunst. Überhaupt birgt die Stadt ein großes Kulturerbe: Ihr entstammt der Bildhauer Bartholdi, der die Freiheitsstatue in New York schuf. Ein zwölf Meter hohes Exemplar lässt sich in Colmar besichtigen. Darüber hinaus liegt der Ort an der Elsässer Weinstraße und schmückt sich gern als Weinhauptstadt der Region.

Das James Boutique Hôtel Colmar centre bietet eine Unterkunft in Zentrum Colmars und befindet sich an der elsässischen Weinstraße. Dieses Boutique-Hotel bietet eine zeitgenössischen und modernen Dekorationsstil.

 James Boutique Hôtel Colmar centre
https://www.jameshotel-colmar.com/
15 rue Saint-Eloi
68000 Colmar, Frankreich
Tel: +33 3 89 21 93 70

Bei Tag und bei Nacht eine wahre Augenweide: Colmar. © Vered Caspi | Unsplash, Evgeni Tcherkasski | Unsplash

Hallstatt, Österreich

Wer kleine Städtchen erkunden will, der muss keine weite Reise auf sich nehmen! Denn mitten in Oberösterreich am Westufer des Hallstätter Sees befindet sich die charmante kleine Stadt Hallstatt. Am schönsten ist diese im Winter, wenn sich die verschneiten Dächer der historischen Gebäude im Hallstätter See spiegeln. Dann locken auch die zahlreichen Wintersportarten in der Region wie Skiwandern und Schlittenhundfahrten. Wer nicht nur vor Bergpanorama und Kaminfeuer entspannen will, kann das ganze Jahr über aktiv werden, vom Tauchen im See über ausgedehnte Bike- und Wandertouren durch das Umland bis zum Gleitschirmfliegen. Sogar Kultururlaub ist möglich: Das Salzkammergut Hallstatt und Dachstein ist Welterbe und lässt sich auf eigene Faust oder auf Führungen erkunden.

 
 
 
 
 
Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Christian Freiwald (@landscapes_nd_more)

Das nur für Erwachsene ausgelegte Hallstatt Hideaway erwartet die Gäste mit Panoramablick auf den Hallstätter See und die umliegenden Berge. Urlauber wohnen im Zentrum der Marktgemeinde Hallstatt, die zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört. Nur wenige Schritte trennen das Hotel vom Seeufer.

Hallstatt Hideaway - Adults only
Home - Hallstatt HideawayHallstatt Hideaway | Private Suites (hallstatt-hideaway.com)
Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg-24
4830 Hallstatt
Tel: +43 699 10483024

 
 
 
 
 
Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Hallstatt Austria (@hallstatthideaway)

Lesenswert

Die top Insider Tipps für New York & New England

Die top Insider Tipps für New York & New England

Die Ostküste der USA wartet mit bilderbuchartigen Locations, zauberhaften Hotels und herbstlichem Charme auf. Die besten Hotels in New York und New England bieten dazu filmreifes Design.

Das sind die exklusivsten Airlines der Welt

Das sind die exklusivsten Airlines der Welt

Von privaten Suites über ausgezeichnete Kulinarik bis hin zu luxuriösen Pflegeprodukten lassen die exklusivsten Airlines auf dieser Liste keine Wünsche offen.

Bergdorf Montestyria: Die stilvollste Pilgerdestination der Welt

Bergdorf Montestyria: Die stilvollste Pilgerdestination der Welt

Ein wohltuendes Zusammenspiel aus Naturerlebnis, Privatsphäre und stilvollem Hotelambiente bringt Körper und Seele in Einklang.

Meist gelesen

MOOONS Vienna: Dieses Hotel ist ein Hotspot für Design-Fans

MOOONS Vienna: Dieses Hotel ist ein Hotspot für Design-Fans

Gelegen in unmittelbarer Nähe aller wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten und ausgestattet mit überraschenden Details ist das MOOONS Vienna ein Place to Stay für Citytrips nach Wien.

Warum das Napa Valley eine Reise wert ist

Warum das Napa Valley eine Reise wert ist

Die kalifornische Weinregion lockt mit sagenhaftem Wein, zahlreichen Hotspots für Genießer und romantischen Hotels.

Die Hotels dieser Designerin punkten mit kunterbuntem Charme

Die Hotels dieser Designerin punkten mit kunterbuntem Charme

Es ist ein Gefühl des Nachhausekommens, das einen umfängt, wenn man zum ersten Mal ein Haus von Firmdale Hotels betritt. Ein Zufall ist das nicht – denn Kit Kemp, Designerin, Creative Director der Gruppe und Teil des Eigentümerduos, wählt jedes Detail mit Sorgfalt aus.

Nach oben blättern