New in

Summer 2021 issue

The most beautiful hotels, the best beaches, island hopping in Greece and city popping in Europe's most exciting cities - Falstaff TRAVEL magazine presents the best tips for the long-awaited travel comeback in 2021!

Emily in Paris Staffel 2
© Stéphanie Branchu/Netflix
CityDestinations

With Emily in Paris: the best spots and places to stay from the hit series

The fans wished, Netflix delivered: as a kind of Christmas present, the 2nd season of the hit series about the young US-American woman who makes it to France will start on 22 December 2021.

6 December 2021


When it was announced in May that filming for the Netflix series "Emily in Paris" would be going into a second round, there was great excitement among fans. The story centered around U.S. citizen Emily Cooper, played by Phil Collins' daughter Lily, whose job at an advertising agency brings her to Paris, struck a chord. Airing in 2020, it was a way to explore the city of love, at least on screen, as lockdowns held a stranglehold on the entire world. The romantic storyline, dreamed up by "Beverly Hills, 90210" and "Sex and the City" creator Darren Star, took in some of the city's most iconic sights in Season 1. Now Emily is back for amour and haute couture. More Saint-Tropez, though. Because Emily, Mindy & Camille are packing their bags and heading to the southern French coast.

Emily (Lily Collins) and Mindy (Ashley Park) make the Palais Royal's benches the "it" place to be. © Netflix/Stéphanie Branchu

Emily in Saint-Tropez

In the coastal town on the French Riviera, famous for its glamour and It factor, the three stroll along the marina. The basic fee for a berth there can cost as much as 2,000 euros. Per day. Finally, they find themselves in front of the famous Café Sénéquier. When the small fishing village of Saint-Tropez became a meeting place for artists, writers and actors in the 1950s, the Sénéquier family was already there. They had been serving their family recipes since 1887: white nougat, tarte tropézienne, and candied fruit. The café's now iconic red terrace offers a magnificent view of the harbour.

Fashion, food and French savoir vivre: Emily and her friends outside the iconic Café Sénéquier. ©Netflix/Carole Bethuel

Emily, who fell head over heels in love with her neighbor Gabriel (Lucas Bravo) in season 1, is supposed to get her mind off things on the Côte d'Azur. After all, Gabriel is not really available. But as luck would have it, a new man suddenly appears. Alfie, played by Lucien Laviscount, is not exactly a sympathetic figure at first. But he still manages to turn Emily's head. Where is this going to lead? To Emily's hotel? It's in a league of its own anyway. The Grand Hotel du Cap-Ferrat was used as the filming location. The luxurious hotel belongs to Four Seasons, offers magnificent views of the sea from its terraces and stylishly elegant suites. Will the often naive Emily know how to behave appropriately in the face of such opulence? One can be curious.

The Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat has already welcomed many illustrious guests. © Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts

The content of "Emily in Paris" season 2 is traditionally kept under wraps. Also about further filming locations and how many of the ten planned episodes in Saint-Tropez will play, is still little known. What is certain is that in addition to already known cast members, new faces will also be seen. For example, a nightclub owner (played by Arnaud Binard) appears, designer Gregory (Jeremy O Harris) has what it takes to become one of the series favorites. There's no question, however, that the troupe will return to Paris. One of the rare photos from "Emily in Paris" season 2 shows Emily and Alfie in front of the city's most iconic landmark: the Eiffel Tower.

Emily and Alfie don't seem to dislike each other quite so much anymore ... © Stéphanie Branchu/Netflix

With Emily in Paris - the best addresses from season 1 and 2

 

Restaurants & Cafés

Bistrot Valois
1 Pl. de Valois, 75001 Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 42 61 35 04
bistrot-valois-paris.com

Located around the corner from the fictional agency "Savoir", the café delights with its flower-adorned terrace. In the series, it serves as a regular meeting place for Emily and her colleagues.

Le Grand Véfour
17 Rue de Beaujolais, 75001 Paris, France
Tel.: + +33 1 42 96 56 27
grand-vefour.com

Said to be the oldest restaurant in the city, this Michelin award-winning eatery is located in the northwest corner of the Palais Royal, where Emily and Mindy often meet on the iconic benches.

Café Le Flore en L'Île 
42 Quai d'Orléans, 75004 Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 43 29 88 27
lefloreenile.fr

The café on Île-St-Louis in the middle of the SEine offers excellent afternoon drinks and unique views of the towers of Notre Dame.

Terra Nera
18 Rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, 75005 Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 43 54 83 09
terranera.fr

The Italian restaurant serves as the filming location for the fictional restaurant "Les Deux Compreses" where Gabriel, Emily's idolized neighbor, works.

La Boulangerie Moderne
16 Rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, 75005 Paris, France
Tel.: + +33 1 43 54 12 22
facebook/boulangerie-moderne-paris

The magic of French pastry - it is revealed to Emily here when she orders pain au chocolat for the first time.

Café de Flore
172 Bd Saint-Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Tel.: + +33 1 45 48 55 26
cafedeflore.fr

Emily meets Thomas in what is probably the most famous literary café in the city, the Café de Flore in Saint-Germain. Simone de Beauvoir, Picasso and Jean-Paul Sartre have all been guests here. When the latter turned down the Nobel Prize for Literature, he held his press conference at the Café de Flore.

Café Sénéquier
29 Quai Jean Jaurès, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Tel.: + 33 4 94 97 20 20
senequier.com.

One of the few addresses from Emily in Paris season 2 is the traditional café with the red facade in Saint Tropez.

 

Hotels

Hôtel Particulier
23 Av. Junot Pavillon D, 75018 Paris, France
Tel:  +33 1 53 41 81 40
hotelparticulier.com

The hip hotel in Montmartre serves as a lunch spot for Emily. But it also has pretty chic rooms and a stylish cocktail bar.

Hôtel Plaza Athénée
25 Av. Montaigne, 75008 Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 53 67 66 65
dorchestercollection.com

In episode 6, Emily looks after her guest from America at this luxury hotel from the Dorchester Collection. Viewers catch a glimpse of the haute couture suite with its perfect view of the Eiffel Tower.

Hôtel d'Evreux
19 Pl. Vendôme, 75001 Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 42 97 54 80
en.poteletchabot.com

In the fifth episode, Emily attends an reception that takes place in this 18th century house. Just a few doors down, also on Place Vendôme, is the world-famous Hôtel Ritz Paris. Coco Chanel once lived here for more than 30 years.

Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat, a Four Seasons Hotel
71 Bd du Général de Gaulle, 06230 Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Tel.: + 33 4 93 76 50 50
fourseasons.com

The luxury hotel served not only as a filming location, but also as accommodation for the writers of the 2nd season of Emily in Paris. Since filming took place during the lockdown, the crew had the hotel in Saint-Tropez all to themselves.

Scroll to Top

Emily in Paris Staffel 2
© Stéphanie Branchu/Netflix
CityDestinations

Mit Emily in Paris: die schönsten Spots und Places to Stay aus der Erfolgsserie

Die Fans wünschten, Netflix lieferte: als eine Art Weihnachtsgeschenk startet am 22. Dezember 2021 die 2. Staffel der Erfolgsserie rund um die junge US-Amerikanerin, die es nach Frankreich verschlägt.

6. Dezember 2021


Als im Mai bekannt wurde, dass die Dreharbeiten für die Netflix-Serie "Emily in Paris" in eine zweite Runde gehen würden, war die Begeisterung unter den Fans groß. Die Geschichte rund um die US-Amerikanerin Emily Cooper, gespielt von Phil Collins' Tochter Lily, die ihr Job bei einer Werbeagentur nach Paris verschlägt, traf den Nerv der Zeit. Im Jahr 2020 ausgestrahlt, war es eine Möglichkeit, die Stadt der Liebe zumindest auf dem Bildschirm zu erkunden, da Lockdowns die gesamte Welt im Würgegriff hielten. Die romantische Story, erdacht vom "Beverly Hills, 90210"- und "Sex and the City"-Erfinder Darren Star, führte in Staffel 1 an einige der ikonischsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt. Nun ist Emily retour für Amour und Haute Couture. Allerdings eher in Saint-Tropez. Denn Emily, Mindy & Camille packen ihre Koffer und begeben sich an die südfranzösische Küste.

Emily (Lily Collins) und Mindy (Ashley Park) machen die Bänke des Palais Royal zum It-Treffpunkt. © Netflix/Stéphanie Branchu

Emily in Saint-Tropez

In der Küstenstadt an der französischen Riviera, berühmt für seinen Glamour und It-Faktor, flanieren die drei am Yachthafen entlang. Dort kostet die Basisgebühr für einen Liegeplatz schon mal 2.000 Euro. Pro Tag. Schließlich finden sie sich vor dem berühmten Café Sénéquier wieder. Als sich das kleine Fischerdorf Saint-Tropez in den 1950er Jahren zum Treffpunkt für Künstler, Schriftsteller und Schauspieler mauserte, war Familie Sénéquier längst da. Schon seit 1887 kredenzt sie ihre Familienrezepte: weißen Nougat, Tarte Tropézienne und kandierte Früchte. Die heute ikonische rote Terrasse des Cafés bietet einen herrlichen Blick auf den Hafen.

Fashion, Food und französisches Savoir-Vivre: Emily und ihre Freundinnen vor dem ikonischen Café Sénéquier. ©Netflix/Carole Bethuel

Emily, die sich in Staffel 1 Hals über Kopf in ihren Nachbarn Gabriel (Lucas Bravo) verliebt hat, soll an der Côte d'Azur auf andere Gedanken kommen. Schließlich ist Gabriel eigentlich nicht zu haben. Doch wie es der Zufall so will, taucht plötzlich ein neuer Mann auf. Alfie, gespielt von Lucien Laviscount, ist zwar anfangs nicht unbedingt ein Sympathieträger. Aber er schafft es dennoch, Emily den Kopf zu verdrehen. Wo soll das noch hinführen? Etwa in Emilys Hotel? Das spielt sowieso in einer eigenen Liga. Denn als Drehort diente das Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat. Das luxuriöse Haus gehört zu Four Seasons, bietet von seinen Terrassen herrliche Ausblicke auf das Meer und stilvoll-elegante Suiten. Ob sich die oft naive Emily angesichts dieser Opulenz angemessen zu benehmen weiß? Man darf gespannt sein.

Das Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat begrüßte bereits zahlreiche illustre Gäste. © Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts

Über den Inhalt der "Emily in Paris" Staffel 2 hält man sich traditionell bedeckt. Auch über weitere Drehorte und wieviele der zehn geplanten Folgen in Saint-Tropez spielen werden, ist noch wenig bekannt. Fest steht, dass neben bereits bekannten Cast-Mitgliedern auch neue Gesichter zu sehen sein werden. So taucht etwa ein Nachtclubbesitzer (gespielt von Arnaud Binard) auf, Designer Gregory (Jeremy O Harris) hat das Zeug dazu, zu einem der Serienlieblinge zu avancieren. Dass die Truppe allerdings nach Paris zurückkehren wird, steht außer Frage. Eines der seltenen Fotos aus der "Emily in Paris" Staffel 2 zeigt nämlich Emily und Alfie vor dem ikonischsten Wahrzeichen der Stadt: dem Eiffelturm.

Emily und Alfie scheinen sich nicht mehr ganz so unsympathisch zu sein ... © Stéphanie Branchu/Netflix

Mit Emily in Paris - die besten Adressen aus Staffel 1 und 2

 

Restaurants & Cafés

Bistrot Valois
1 Pl. de Valois, 75001 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: +33 1 42 61 35 04
bistrot-valois-paris.com

Das um die Ecke der fiktiven Agentur "Savoir" gelegene Café begeistert mit seiner blumengeschmückten Terrasse. In der Serie dient es als regelmäßiger Treffpunkt für Emily und ihre Kollegen.

Le Grand Véfour
17 Rue de Beaujolais, 75001 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: + +33 1 42 96 56 27
grand-vefour.com

Angeblich das älteste Restaurant der Stadt, liegt das Michelin-prämierte Restaurant in der nordwestlichen Ecke des Palais Royal, wo sich Emily und Mindy häufig auf den ikonischen Bänken treffen.

Café Le Flore en L'Île 
42 Quai d'Orléans, 75004 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: +33 1 43 29 88 27
lefloreenile.fr

Das Café auf der Île-St-Louis inmitten der SEine bietet hervorragende Afternoon Drinks und einzigartige Blicke auf die Türme von Notre Dame.

Terra Nera
18 Rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, 75005 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: +33 1 43 54 83 09
terranera.fr

Das italienische Restaurant dient als Drehort für das fiktive Restaurant "Les Deux Compreses", in dem Gabriel, Emilys umschwärmter Nachbar, arbeitet.

La Boulangerie Moderne
16 Rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, 75005 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: + +33 1 43 54 12 22
facebook/boulangerie-moderne-paris

Die Magie von französischem Gebäck - sie erschließt sich Emily hier, als sie zum ersten Mal Pain au Chocolat bestellt.

Café de Flore
172 Bd Saint-Germain, 75006 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: + +33 1 45 48 55 26
cafedeflore.fr

Emily trifft sich mit Thomas im wohl berühmtesten Literatencafé der Stadt, dem Café de Flore in Saint-Germain. Hier waren schon Simone de Beauvoir, Picasso und Jean-Paul Sartre zu Gast. Als letzterer den Literatur-Nobelpreis ausschlug, hielt er seine Pressekonferenz im Café de Flore ab.

Café Sénéquier
29 Quai Jean Jaurès, 83990 Saint-Tropez, Frankreich
Tel.: + 33 4 94 97 20 20
senequier.com

Als eine der wenigen Adressen aus Emily in Paris Staffel 2 ist das traditionsreiche Café mit der roten Fassade in Saint Tropez bekannt.

 

Hotels

Hôtel Particulier
23 Av. Junot Pavillon D, 75018 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.:  +33 1 53 41 81 40
hotelparticulier.com

Das hippe Hotel am Montmartre dient als Lunch-Spot für Emily. Es hat aber auch ziemlich schicke Zimmer und eine stylishe Cocktailbar.

Hôtel Plaza Athénée
25 Av. Montaigne, 75008 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: +33 1 53 67 66 65
dorchestercollection.com

In Episode 6 betreut Emily ihren Gast aus Amerika in diesem Luxushotel aus der Dorchester Collection. Zuseher erhaschen einen Blick auf die Haute Couture Suite mit ihrer perfekten Aussicht auf den Eiffelturm.

Hôtel d'Evreux
19 Pl. Vendôme, 75001 Paris, Frankreich
Tel.: +33 1 42 97 54 80
en.poteletchabot.com

In der fünften Folge nimmt Emily an einem Emfpang teil, der in diesem Haus aus dem 18. Jahrhundert stattfindet. Nur ein paar Türen weiter, ebenfalls am Place Vendôme befindet sich übrigens das weltbekannte Hôtel Ritz Paris. Hier lebte Coco Chanel einst mehr als 30 Jahre lang.

Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat, a Four Seasons Hotel
71 Bd du Général de Gaulle, 06230 Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, Frankreich
Tel.: + 33 4 93 76 50 50
fourseasons.com

Das Luxushotel diente nicht nur als Drehort, sondern auch als Unterkunft für die Schreiber der 2. Staffel von Emily in Paris. Da während des Lockdowns gefilmt wurde, hatte die Crew das Hotel in Saint-Tropez für sich allein.

Lesenswert

#travelerstofollow: Chelsea Yamase (@chelseakauai)

#travelerstofollow: Chelsea Yamase (@chelseakauai)

Wer Chelsea Yamase folgt, wird sich der Hawaiianerin schnell verbunden fühlen: Mit enormer Lebensfreude nimmt sie ihre Follower mit zum Acroyoga oder Free Diving und erzählt ganz nebenbei, wie ein wenig Mindfulness das Leben und Reisen schöner macht.

Reisen via Instagram: Die #travelerstofollow des Sommers

Reisen via Instagram: Die #travelerstofollow des Sommers

Spektakuläre Landschaften, jahrtausendealte Tempel, bunte Graffiti-Gebäude sowie eine große Portion Abenteuer und Freiheit: Diese internationalen #travelerstofollow erzählen vom Reisen auf Solopfaden, mit Familie oder als Pärchen – und verraten ihre absoluten Lieblingsdestinationen.

Die 12 schönsten Bike-Hotels in den Bergen

Die 12 schönsten Bike-Hotels in den Bergen

Abenteuer auf zwei Rädern: Neue Orte und Plätze mit dem Bike zu erkunden liegt aktuell voll im Trend – egal ob mit dem Mountain-, Downhill- oder E-Bike. Wir präsentieren die schönsten Hotels für den Bike-Urlaub in den Bergen.

Meist gelesen

Beauty and the Beach: Das sind die 7 schönsten Strände an der Algarve

Beauty and the Beach: Das sind die 7 schönsten Strände an der Algarve

Sie locken mit feinem Sand, bizarren Felsformationen, durch die Tunnel führen, klarem Wasser und Unterwasserhöhlen: die Strände an der Algarve sind echte Naturschönheiten.

Die schönsten Seen des Sommers: Comer See

Die schönsten Seen des Sommers: Comer See

Wie die Perlen an einer Kette fädeln sich traumhafte Villen aus dem 15. Jahrhundert am Ufer des oberitalienischen Sees auf, an dem Verdi „La Traviata“ komponierte und andere kulturelle Meisterwerke entstanden. Unterbrochen werden sie dabei von zahlreichen malerischen Dörfern, die sich bis heute ihren authentischen Charme erhalten haben. Der Comer See begeistert Besucher mit Luxus pur.

Algarve Bucketlist: 10 Dinge, die man im Süden Portugals erleben muss

Algarve Bucketlist: 10 Dinge, die man im Süden Portugals erleben muss

Bekannt für seine feinsandigen Strände lockt die Region im Süden Portugals Sonnenhungrige und Surfer, doch auf die Algarve Bucketlist sollte so viel mehr als nur der Ausflug an den Beach.

Nach oben blättern